Australia issues ETA or eVisitor visas for travelers from 45 countries for temporary stays. Below, we have explained the authorizations by country of origin and purpose for interested parties:

  ETA Visa eVisitor Visa

Which countries are eligible?

Brunei, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea, China, US

European Union, Andorra, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, San Marino, Switzerland and Vatican City

What ist he difference between ETA and eVisitor?

Essentially, the ETA and eVisitor visas are the same

Requirements for an ETA / eVisitor visa

  • Maximum 3 months (90 days) per stay in Australia
  • Application MUST be made outside Australia
  • Valid passport, no previous convictions, no tuberculosis
  • Tourism or business travel in Australia without any intention to work

What am I allowed todo with an ETA/eVisitor tourist visa?

Leisure, recreation, holiday travel, visiting friends or family

What am I allowed todo with an ETA/eVisitor business visa?

Business initiations, orientation trips, participation in trade fairs and conferences, business negotiations

Who surely does NOT get an ETA/eVisitor visa?

  • Travellers over 75 years of age must apply for a visitor's visa and provide proof of health
  • Passengers with a criminal past
  • Travellers with serious chronic illnesses such as tuberculosis

How long is an ETA/eVisitor visa valid for?

From the day of issue, an ETA/eVisitor visa is valid for 12 months. You may enter Australia as often as you wish during this period as long as your stay does not exceed 90 days.

What should NOT be imported to Australia?

Imports of fruit, nuts, dairy products, fresh foodstuffs such as meat or fish

Further information at


Register now for ETA Register now for eVisitor



A list of participating countries can be found -here-